Trump expected to sign new executive order on travel ban


US President Donald Trump will exclude Iraq from the list of Muslim countries targeted in a travel ban when he signs a revised executive order as part of his promised overhaul of the nation’s immigration and refugee policies, according to a White House official.

The new directive, which is expected to be signed on Monday, will maintain a 90-day entry ban on citizens of six Muslim-majority countries – Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen.

The Pentagon and the State Department have reportedly been pressuring Trump to remove Iraq from the list of countries in the original order, which he introduced soon after taking office.

An unnamed White House official told Reuters that Iraq was taken off the list because the Iraqi government is working with the US to counter the threat of Daesh (ISIL) and has introduced new vetting procedures, including tighter visa screening and better data sharing.

Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi had threatened the…

Read more