GOP senators to introduce new Iran sanctions bill

A group of US Republican senators is planning to introduce legislation to impose new sanctions against Iran over what legislators have described as Tehran’s support for terrorism and human rights violations, a report says.

The bill will be introduced on Thursday by Senator Marco Rubio, a Republican presidential candidate, and Senators Mark Kirk, Kelly Ayotte, Dan Coats and Cory Gardner as well as Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, The Hill newspaper reported.

Nine other Republican senators have also signed on the new bill, dubbed the “Iran Terrorism and Human Rights Sanctions Act of 2016,” the report said.

The bill’s co-sponsors include Senator Ted Cruz, a Republican presidential candidate, and Senators John Cornyn, Rob Portman, Pat Roberts, Ben Sasse, Tom Cotton, Jerry Moran, Johnny Isakson and Lisa Murkowski.

The senators have accused Iran of supporting terrorism in the Middle East and committing human rights abuses.

“I reject our current…

Read more