US imposes visa sanctions on 4 nations

The United States has slapped visa sanctions on four African, Asian nations, arguing they have refused to take back deported citizens.

The Homeland Security Department said Wednesday the countries are being punished “due to lack of cooperation” on deportations.

The US Embassy in Eritrea said in a statement that the most severe sanctions will be imposed against the country, which is suspending the issuance of B visas for business and tourism of its nations.

The East African nation is a major source of migrants who are reportedly fleeing a system of forced military conscription that repeatedly has been denounced by the United Nations and human rights groups.

In the  Southeast Asian nation of Cambodia, top government officials of and their immediate family members will be denied business and tourism visas by the US.

 The issuance of student and cultural exchange visas to certain officials and family members of Guinea’s government will…

Read more