Seven banned Muslim countries are victim of US terrorism: Analyst


The seven Muslim countries targeted by US President Donald Trump’s executive order are the victim of US terrorism, not sponsors of terrorism, says an American political analyst and activist based in Washington.

Brian Becker, the national coordinator for the ANSWER Coalition, a US-based protest group consisting of many antiwar and civil rights organizations, made the remarks in a phone interview with Press TV on Tuesday.

Trump’s revised immigration ban includes the same seven countries targeted in the original executive order, according to The Associated Press. The initial order barred refugees and people from seven predominately Muslim countries — Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen — from entering the United States.

Becker said that the fact that Trump “selected seven particular countries with majority Muslim populations was an effort to provide some fig leaf or legal cover for what is blatantly unconstitutional and illegal in…

Read more