PressTV-Trump temporarily excludes EU from steel tariffs

US President Donald Trump has temporarily excluded European Union states and six other countries, including Canada and Mexico, and from higher US import duties on steel and aluminum.

In a presidential proclamation published Thursday, Trump said he would suspend tariffs for Canada, Mexico, Australia, Brazil, Argentina, South Korea and the European Union, America’s largest trading partner, until May as negotiations continue.

After May 1, Trump would decide whether to permanently exempt the countries based on the status of talks, the White House said in a statement.

Beginning Friday, Washington will impose higher import tariffs of 25 percent on steel and 10 percent on aluminum, mainly aimed at curbing imports from China.

“I have determined that the necessary and appropriate means to address the threat to the national security posed by imports from steel articles from these countries is to continue these discussions and to exempt steel…

Read more